Who we are – Old

IBBY South Africa (IBBY SA) is one of more than 75 national sections of the International Board on Books for Young People, a non-profit organisation founded to promote international understanding through children’s books.

The International Board on Books for Young People South Africa is a forum for all role-players in the world of South African children’s and youth literature. Publishers, booksellers, media personalities, literacy activists, authors, illustrators and librarians feature on IBBY SA’s membership list.

IBBY is committed to protect and uphold the UN Convention on the Rights of the Child, in particular, a child’s right to education and direct access to information. Our membership of IBBY ensures that the best South African books and reading projects receive international exposure.

IBBY SA would like to thank Book Dash for the use of this image and the wonderful banner on our home page.

With members from all provinces representing all South African languages, IBBY SA’s mission has two intertwined threads:

•             The promotion of South African children’s and youth literature, both in South Africa and internationally.

•             Support for South African children’s and youth reading projects to increase access to books.

IBBY SA Executive Committee and Working Group Members:

Portfolio Executive Committee Working Group
Chairperson Dusanka Stojakovic  
Gauteng Chapter Lorato Trok, Righardt le Roux  
Treasurer Sunitha Amod  
Secretary Razaan Kahn  
International Communication Carole Bloch  
Funding Carol Broomhall  
Events Management Righardt le Roux  
Digital Communication Mabel Mnensa Nonikiwe Mashologu, Julia Norrish, Samantha van Riet
Membership Drive Dusanka Stojakovic Sindiwe Magona
Reviews Nonikiwe Mashologu Lorato Trok, Mia Oosthuizen
Awards Arabella Koopman Elaine Ridge