IBBY SA is responsible for the selection and nomination of the best South African books, writers, illustrators, translators and project for a host of international awards, including the Honours List for the IBBY World Congress, the Hans Christian Anderson and Astrid Lindgren Awards amongst others.

Locally, the Exclusive Books IBBY SA Award is given to the writer and illustrator of the best children’s books and has been awarded every second year since its inauguration in 2007.

Find out more about our local awards here and here. Alternatively click on these links to explore the Hans Christian Anderson Award and the Astrid Lindgren Award.